Yes

Standard

A poem I came across:

Yes I am rabid optimist

For me

Every tree that continues to stand,

Every stream that continues to flow,

Every child that runs away from home,

Is an indication

That the battle

Is not only on

It is being won.

Possibly you will tell me

About the nuclear arms race,

And all I can tell you

Is that

An unknown child

Held my hand

With  love.

You will try to draw me

Into the plateau of practical life

Tell me

That   not only  god but all the religious

And irreligious leaders

Are  dead.

And all I can tell you

Is that

Across the forest

Lives a young man

Who calls the  earth

His mother

You will give me the

Boring details of the rise of state power

After   every revolution.

And all I can tell you

Is that

In our tribe

We still share

Our  bread.

You will reason with me

And I will talk nonsense like this.

And because the difference between reason and poetry

Is  the difference between breathing and living life,

I will read poems to you.

Poems full of optimism

Poems full of dreams

May be poems better than this..

-sathyu.

Leave a Reply

